Did I Get It Wrong

Have I lived my time
with you and now its
over?

no looking back even
if it feels good to the point
that it brings on the sadness
flowing through my veins from
that eternal crack in my heart
that never healed from the first
break.

did I get it wrong?
thinking that continually
re-breaking it will in some
way eventually heal my heart
correctly

what if the hammer that
initially broke it is hiding
in the recesses of a damaged
memory

will taking my hand from its
handle figuratively count as
literally letting it go and will
that be enough

the past will never change
but knowing that, will find
some balance in the future

now I’m looking forward
still recognizing hopes and
dreams that have yet to be
realized

seeing the other side of
that which finds your
beauty wondering if
I ever told you

alas, maybe it’s too late for
such things

Katovski2017

Leave a Reply

