Incantation

I’m whispering those magic words
to raise your spirit from the dead
voices gather far and wide I hear
them echo in my head

place the stones to form a star
draw a circle without end light a
fire burning blue sacred color
binding me as one to you

it is but a love story from long ago
I knew her well and she knew better
we stood at the edge of the void star
gazing while she called the elements
and we danced among them

life was simpler back then before
the wicked web of complicated
confusion consumed a cycle and
desperation became the backhanded
fulfillment of an erroneous need

time lapse memory foreshadowing
a day stepping into the circle casting
my hopes and dreams the only truth
I possess onto the pentacle waiting
for the magic to flow through

the one star points to the shadow
lands close to the void or a point of
no return it is there I will cast my lot
as a mortal to find the spirit of my star

wondering only if it will move me
forward or send me back to moments
before the slice that took the life which
sent me down a spiraling path where
darkness became the way

I’m whispering those magic words to
raise her spirit from the after all it is
but a love story

Katovski2017

Leave a Reply

