Rock Bottom

I tripped and I fell
and now I’m falling
faster than the speed
of the sound of my
own voice calling

Silent are the screams
of eloquent dreams
whose colors fade to gray
and then slowly to black

It was never about the fall
impact always scared me
now I find myself praying
for it to happen quickly

For while my world
spins out of control
at least in hitting rock bottom
there will be something solid
beneath my feet

Looking up and out
heart bleeding
soul bared naked standing
nothing left to wonder
dreams died here today

Empty words falling
reminiscent of snow
land like ghosts all around
quiet from the lack of motion

Alone in this vast actuality
finding a word seeing its guilt
the content of its character
void of motion or fluid response
just speaking it
fails to apply its action

Love or adoration by which
it may be falsely defined
then becomes something
of a curse

In the same sinking ship
bound for the isle of disillusion
acquaintance has stowed away
beneath the pretense of friend

The mire of self pity
has long run its course
in this game of want verses need
while I may covet certain things
there is no requirement for anything
based upon my human condition

It was this day, this very day
to which I gathered what
remained my life
only to find the error of a year
spent trying, yes trying not to die

Where instead my heart and soul
have made such a plea as to start living
forgetting just enough
about the impact of mortality
to boldly step forth
into a new adventure

There is a place where dreams
go to die and empty words reconcile
a magic mirror showing
a stripped down image
and a new beginning
it’s called rock bottom

KatovskiĀ©2016

Leave a Reply

