The Freedom to be Me

If only now I could touch the stars again

But there is this chain on my leg

Robbing me holding me down

Tic toc time clock

You stand there

Like someone’s mother

Holding tight

Your gestapo watch

Two hours is quite enough

Now tell your friends bye

And let’s go I have other things to do

Oh mother my mother

            I left your household at nineteen      

            How is it then that you still visit me

Vicariously through other people

And without my consent

You lost your right to raise me

            When you first charged me rent

            Yet still someone fights

            To be my master

My home turned gulag

            Hold it in don’t say it

            The walls they shrink

            Confining solitary

            Choke collar

            Dog on a leash

            I am not your pet

            Nor are you my master

Tic toc tic toc

            Words that find deaf ears

            With no understanding

            Under pressure hot fire burning

            Tic toc tic toc time bomb

            No means no

            Boom!!!

If only now I could touch the stars again

            And find the freedom to be me

Katovski©2013

 

Leave a Reply

