Racist

 

A person with a prejudiced belief

That one race is superior to others

This word has wings

It fly’s now more

Than anytime

In all my life 

As a child of the sixties

Being raised in

Lower middle class America

I learned that there

Are a different types

Of color blindness

The one that I have

Is not some birth defect

It’s a learned attribute

I heard DR. Martin Luther king’s

Speech “I have a Dream”

And when he said “judge a man

Not by the color of his skin

But by the content of his character”

I already understood this

There have been a lot of years                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          From then to now

Some with race riots some with race wars

There were even those who rose up

In the name of god

Whose content so lacking

Made them no more righteous

Than the rest of the bigoted

Here we are 50 years later

I’m green and you’re blue

We don’t agree on any opinions

Maybe it’s because we are both assholes

At least in that respect we concur

That is the content of our character

And Mr. President

I do not agree with you                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 On much of anything

It has nothing to do                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       With the color of your skin

You see I am color blind

I don’t even see fifty shades of gray

And yet you call me a racist based on what?

Pokémon doesn’t have a race card

Did you know that?

So because you think that

The president of the United States

Can at will change the definition of a word

That in itself makes me

A  R-A-C-I-S-T

I see you as just a man and nothing more

I disagree with your concept of America

On the grounds of opposing opinions

 

And because I question everything

Why is it that this country

Has become the hatred of decades gone by

Why does a government have an agenda

To create more racism

 

Maybe we should all remove our hands

From the shoving motion                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          In each other’s throats

Biased opinions never serve up very well

 

There are people of all races and religions

Who sometimes do stupid things

And I have an allergic reaction to that

There is a difference between hatred and an allergy

So imagine what it’s like for me

When I do something stupid

The anaphylactic shock is nearly fatal

 

Not being infallible    

I have always made claim

To not be a racist

However socio demography has

At times caused bits of anger to enter

Waking certain genetics from hibernation

Causing me to hate unequally

This is the shame of my own humanity

I really don’t want to see colors

My parents never taught me racism

If only we could all just be color blind

Katovski©2013

 

Leave a Reply

